Knowing When To Breathe

Breathing is one of the simplest things that learn how to do, yet sometimes we forget how hard it was to take that first breath.

Life is like that sometimes, we know that all the little pieces make up the big picture, but sometimes, those little pieces can feel like thousands of shards that are so hard to put back together.  When you’re in that close, and so deep in the puzzle, you sometimes forget your way.

I’ve been feeling like this lately.  Not depressed, but the realization that the daily in and out of watching my daughter, cleaning the apartment, running errands; everything just seems to blur in one full day.  Monday, Tuesday, eh, it’s all OneDay.  Days like these reminds me that I have to breathe.

One of the easiest things that we can do to center ourselves or ground ourselves is breathe.  It clears the minds, it calms you down; in a way it soothes the soul.

When I find myself losing my temper sooner than I want.  I know I have to breathe.

When it looks like the work around the house will never end.  Breathe.

When my daughter doesn’t listen to my every command and request, again I breathe.

It’s funny that we pay people to teach us how to breathe again.  Take Lamaze classes for example.  They teach you to focus on something, and keep that focus and concentrate on your breathing.  It doesn’t lessen the pain, it takes your mind off of the pain.  Because truth be told, pain will come and go when you’re in labor, and the only thing you have control over, is how you breathe.

Yoga is another example.  We inhale, and exhale while trying to keep ourselves balanced in the various different poses for our well-being.

So for this weekend, instead of just looking at my world at an ant’s view, I’m going to look at the big picture and just remember to breathe.

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on June 24, 2011, in Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

