Having A Sense of Humor

I’ve always wondered where my sense of humor came from.  I have the silliness of my mom (who no doubt got that from my grandfather), and my sarcastic nature, which I got from my dad.  Put those two things together, and you have a really odd sense of humor.  If my mother is correct, then I have a lot to be worried about.

My mother loves to buy dolls.  Even when we were past the age to play with them, she still bought them–for her.  She has a room in her house of dolls that sit there quietly while waiting to be played with.  Eire for me since I didn’t play with dolls, but heaven for my daughter who just adores them.

One doll brought back a fond memory of me playing a jest on my parents.  Arthur.  If I was a child again, then this doll would be the one I would snuggle up with at night.  He had programable hands, ears and feet.  Just the perfect thing for a tinker (such as myself) could really get into.

After tinkering with the doll for a few hours, I realized that I was able to program an alarm on it.  He was going to be my parent’s alarm clock, they just didn’t know it–yet.  After all, a loving daughter such as myself, would never want to see my parents sleep in and miss work.  So, I set the alarm to go off at 3:15am.  Just the right time for a prank.

That night I slept peacefully.  I wasn’t afraid of my parent’s wrath–actually, I never thought that far in advance.  It was just something that I knew I could do once, and only once and never ever try it on them again.

That morning, I kept a stone serious face.  Pretended that I didn’t know what I did the day before.

My mother came down the stairs with a perplexed look on her face.

Me: What’s wrong mommy?

Mom: Something weird happened this morning.

Me: What happened?

Mom: My Arthur doll just came alive on it’s own and started to talk.

Me: Really?  What did it say?

Mom: It said that it’s time to get up and play.  Then it started to say to press my ear to hear with I’m thinking.

Me: That’s weird (still trying to be serious).  What did Dad do?

Mom: Your father asked me : ‘Who was that?’  I told him it was Arthur.  ‘Arthur? Who’s Arthur?’

Me:…

Mom: He then said: ‘Tell Arthur to go home.’

I couldn’t keep it in any longer, I was on the floor laughing.  I know it was wrong to wake my parents up with a doll, but I’ve seen too many “Child’s Play” movies to not give it a try.  Arthur was harmless, but it still didn’t stop me.

My mom quickly caught on to what I did.  She then started to laugh with me.  I was then told to never do it again (a given, since I know my dad wouldn’t be so forgiving a second time around).

Even to this day, my mom cracks up and laughs about the early morning wake up call from Arthur.

If my daughter inherits my sense of humor or sarcastic nature, I’m really going to be in trouble.

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on June 23, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

