The Girl Who I Used To Know

The girl who I gave birth to is missing and was replaced with something I’ve never seen before–a terrible two toddler.

I knew this day was coming, but somehow I just tried to ignore all the warning signs. You know, the squirming when you try to get a hold of her, the kicking and screaming when she doesn’t get her way, even the inability to go anywhere because she refuses to put on her shirt.

Today was just another day towards a full terrible two toddler. She was supposed to take her nap, but she refused to. She was supposed to be tired and exhausted but she was just getting started. One could say it was because of our trip to Ikea, but she handled outings before and still took a nap.

This time, it got so bad that I had to vacate the store by stalking anyone with a yellow shirt to beg them to get me out of the store. If you haven’t been to Ikea, then the layout is designed to make you lose your mind and wallet. There is no such thing as an easy exit strategy. You either walk through the whole store just to get back to the beginning, or you hunt someone down and beg.

I’m a beggar. I couldn’t think about walking through the whole store frustrated and tired knowing that I couldn’t shop and lose myself in the store displays. Instead I had to do the adult thing and tend to my daughter.

Since there was nothing else for me to do while she was sleeping but hold her and watch my husband shop, I just told myself that I’m getting that hour workout that I couldn’t get at home–yea, that should cheer me up.

When she woke up, all was well in the world–for about 5 minutes, afterwards no one was allowed touch her (other than me), and she was looking to be helpful the minute her eyes popped open.

I miss the daughter I gave birth to. I could shop, she would nap easily, and there would be no talks about being helpful, which is really not that helpful.

Instead, I’m just look forward to the evening for some adult time: a tall glass of lemonade, and an Ikea catalog and no toddler calling my name. Ahhhhh.

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on June 11, 2011, in Children and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oh, how I relate! On Friday evening, I wrote a few things reflecting on how impossible it was that I’d dropped off my darling toddler at day care that morning . . . to then pick up–exactly as you said–a terrible-twos-toddler. Also as you said, the warning signs were there; they just finally moved from occasional signs to full-blown mode.

    I escaped to Disneyland. In fact, after Li’l D went to sleep last night, I sat down to write about our Disneyland trip . . . to then write an entry saluting single parents, because . . . wow.

  2. Man, I hate those days when all you look forward to is bedtime when you can just 1 minute alone. Feel ya, hon.

Leave a Reply

