Daily Archives: June 7, 2011

Fall! Fall! Fall!

20110606-063944.jpg

A few months ago, my daughter fell down hard enough to prompt an emergency dentist visit. Even though everything worked out okay, I know that she still remembers it.

Every stumble since¬†¬†her fall (major or minor) is “the fall” for her. She would sit on the floor saying “I fall, I fall” while waiting for me to come to the rescue and pick her up.

There has been times when she’s fallen (stumbled) and knowing that she wasn’t hurt, I walked away to prompt her to get up on her own. Instead of getting up and staying up, she would get up, run to me, and tell me she fell. When I move forward to pick her up, she then runs back to the same spot where she’s fallen so that I can pick her up from there.

I don’t get it. She’s not hurt. Running after me tells me that. At this point I don’t want to understand.

If she bumps her teeth, she’s insistent on me checking her mouth every five minutes. After all the teeth checking, she will be permanently attached to me by nursing for the rest of the day.

I don’t know what’s worse, picking her up after every minor stumble or having her latched to me for the rest of the day because she fell and got scared.

Would it really be so bad if I offer her a cookie and then hide in the bathroom? Just asking.

Right now I’m just buying my time since I cherish my peace and quiet and can’t stand to hear her cry all day.

What do you do when your child refuses to let you out of their sights?

