So She Wants To Be Helpful

When I was a child, I used to love giving a helping hand. It didn’t matter if it was putting away groceries, collecting wood, or just holding things in place. Just the feeling that I’ve done something useful was enough for me.

As I got older, my feelings started to change when helping out. It seems like people see a useful person and for an odd reason they see the word sucker written on their faces. But there is something that I cannot deny: it feels good to help out.

My daughter is currently in the helpful phase. She wants to help out with everything. Throwing out diapers, cleaning the tub (non-toxic cleaners: baking soda and vinegar), anything really.

Even if there is no mess to clean up, she is sure to make a mess in order to clean it. My daughter used to do it with food, now she does it crayons. When push comes to shove, I’ll take crayon clean-up over food any time.

There are times where it will be faster, easier, and less stressful if I just do it myself, but I want her to learn. Fighting her off the broom is far more work than just guiding the broom in her hands; besides, there are no tears when she helps out.

I know it is only a matter of time before I won’t be able to get her to clean up her room, take out the trash, or even listen to me.   So in the meantime, I’m going to milk this “helpful” mindset for as long as possible.

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on June 1, 2011, in Children and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

