Memorial Day Part 3: Celebration Through Observation

Today was the last day of my husband’s three day weekend. Since we had all the family gatherings set up for the beginning of the weekend, we had time just for ourselves to just relax.

We spent the day outside shopping and browsing in different stores. This of course was a last minute decision. I woke up this morning and noticed that it was going to be hot today (91° but feel like 100°). I had a choice, stay home and be hot, sweaty and moody, or go out and try and have as much fun as possible.

Out we went into the sun, trying to distract ourselves from Tuesday, the day where everything goes back to normal.

There are several thing that I have noticed in the street and on the road:

• This is the beginning of car accident season. Just my driving to the mall, a car in front of me tire blew out cause me to brake suddenly. Not something I like to do on the expressway– especially with my daughter in the car.

• Malls will be crowded with teens who don’t have anywhere to go, and no money to spend.

• This time of year, people will cross against the light at a s-l-o-w pace. You can’t go around them (because there are always more than one), and you can’t go through them (apparently it’s illegal).

• Clothes are left at home and it’s time to go shopping in a bathing suit. It doesn’t matter that you’re not near a pool, or the beach, swimsuits in the mall makes perfect sense.

I’m not looking to fast forward to the end of summer (that means I’ll be several months older), I’m just hoping that summer passes by without any problems or issues.

Congratulations to everyone who survived this Memorial Day. Let’s hope to get through the summer months in tact.

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on May 30, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

