Afraid of A Big (Smallish) Bee

I like to think of myself as a cool hip person who can take on the world. I don’t mind slaying rodents (if I have to), I can even step on a bug or two if it was necessary for the survival of me. What I can’t stand are bees.

I’ve heard all the sayings, if you don’t attack them, they won’t attack you, but how much of that is really true?

This morning, I was infested by a huge bee that somehow made it into my apartment bathroom. Might I add that the windows were closed in the bathroom and the door was shut. For all I know, that bee could have been in there all night and half the morning. Either way, it was still a big bee.

Upon seeing the bee, I tried to be a big girl (at least for my daughter). I slowly walked into the bathroom and closed the door. All I was going to try to do is open the bathroom window so that the bee can fly out of my life for good.

Things rarely ever go as plan. Instead of just opening the window, the bee made a bee-line straight for me. It was irate because I was in it’s space. I swallowed my pride and ran out of the bathroom screaming like the girl I know I am.

While shaking, I was going to have to make a decision about what to do. My husband was at work and my brother was not about to come over for a bee. So I called the super. It was an emergency after all.

I can just imagine the guy’s look on his face when picking up the phone to a hysterical woman complaining about a bee in her bathroom. I don’t care. It was a bee, and it wasn’t this one.

Although, this bee does have a sinister look on it.

The super went into the bathroom and did what I couldn’t do; he killed the bee. I expected him to take his time, at least make it look like the job was difficult. Instead he closed the bathroom door (while I hid in the bedroom) and came out 15 seconds later with the dead bee.

I won’t say that I feel sorry for the bee, it had it coming when it didn’t allow me to let it out the window. The poor bug is now on it’s way to bee heaven.

Let this be a warning to all bugs out there, if you are in my home I want to let you out, but don’t attack me, I’ll call the super on you.

Do bugs make you cringe? If not, what does?

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on May 27, 2011, in Women and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

