Only A Bad Dream

This afternoon, my daughter did the unthinkable–she took her nap for three hours. Not that I’m complaining, I had three hours to myself in silence. If you have experienced that before, you know that it can be pure bliss.

Unfortunately, the perfect day came to a screeching halt when she woke up from her nap crying. It wasn’t from me leaving her side because she was still latched. She had a bad dream.

As a mom, I would like to think that I can shield her from everything. Do the best that I can so that nothing and no one harms her. But when it comes to bad dreams I feel so defenseless.

Since my daughter is two years old, I can understand that it is hard to distinguish reality from fantasy. In her mind, all her dreams would be real.

If there was ever a reason to not want to go through childhood again, this would be one of them. I’ve already had my share of waking up in the middle of the night thinking I had to study for a final.

For now, all I can do is hold her tight, wipe away her tears and tell her that it was a bad dream. That it’s okay to be scared because it felt real, but it was only a dream. I can do this until she calms down and feels better.

When was the last time your child had a bad dream?

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on May 23, 2011, in Children and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

