Daughter Says Thank You

A few days ago, my daughter surprised me: She said thank you. I can’t remember exactly for what, but she just said thank you.

Since she was born, I’ve been trying my best to be courteous and show her manners though my actions. If she does something I don’t like, she’ll know. If she did something that I asked her to do, I say thank you.

When she finally managed to say those two words, the only thing I could think of was Wow! Something is working. I am hoping that by the time she’s 3, she’ll understand thank you, please and all the other words as well.

Personally don’t want her saying “What?” when I call her, so I’ve been saying “Yes?” whenever she calls my name. Impressionable as she is, she also says “Yes?” when I call her name.

I would like to say that this phase will last forever, but I know, eventually she’ll be a know-it-all with an attitude to match. But a parent has to take what they can get. If it’s a thank you and a kiss…I’ll take it.

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on May 17, 2011, in Children and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It is funny how as parents we start to think about stuff like this! I’m doing the same thing when the chipmunk goes “da-da-da” even though he doesn’t know he is saying daddy… this way he knows if he makes that sound when I am around I will answer him!

  2. Awww! Good for her! She’s becoming a little lady 🙂

Leave a Reply

