Spelling Things O-U-T

I’ve noticed a trend in my family, when we have a conversation, we find it difficult not to spell something out.  A conversation is just not a conversation without the occasional s-p-e-l-l session.  This of course is a result of having a toddler who understand everything you say.

Sometimes, it feels like we randomly pick certain words just to spell out because it wouldn’t be normal talking in front of a toddler while saying all the words.

I noticed that people usually lose track of the words you’re trying to spell after 5 letters (if they are paying attention), so if you really want to be funny, start spelling out your medication or some long ridiculous word and ask them if they got it.

Just imagine the conversation:

“I’ve just started taking some i-b-u-p-h-r-o-f-e-n with my c-l-i-n-d-a-m-y-c-i-n that I got from my d-o-c-t-o-r, and I swear that the a-c-e-t-a-m-i-n-o-p-h-e-n works better.”

We’ll see how long it takes for the person who you’re talking to say “WHAT?!” or “repeat that.”

Or how about spelling out every other word.

It’s even better to try it with a serious look on your face.

With our attention spans these days, it doesn’t take long to lose someone.

With me, I know that after a long day, I start to spell a lot because I’m tired and sometimes I forget why I’m spelling words after, even after my daughter falls asleep.

Now for kids who were taught to read early and spell early, I don’t know how this works out for parents, but in my experience so far, this part can be pretty fun.

Well…at least until they start putting the words together.

How often do you have to s-p-e-l-l things out?


About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on May 16, 2011, in Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

