Top 3 Rules for Stay at Home Parents

Last night was the beginning of me catching something.  You know how it gets when you get a sore throat and all of a sudden your whole body is aching and then the chills begin.  When I was lying in bed, these rules came to mind.

01. Don’t get sick…ever!

This is the first thing that I’ve learned from being a stay at home parent, and the most important rule. It is already a given that there is no lunch breaks, bathroom breaks, vacations, regularly scheduled “me” time, and of course no sick days.

If anyone really wants to know how hard it is to raise a child, try doing so when you can’t drag yourself out of bed and your toddler doesn’t under stand the difference between rest (for longer than 3 seconds) and play.

I dare anyone to try to take care of yourself and your spawn for a day when all you want to do is crawl in a fetus position and say: WHY?!

If you were unfortunate to never tended to yourself and a child while sick all I can say is: you are a lucky one indeed. But for te rest of us, you know where I’m coming from.

02. Patience is not just a virtue–its your friend.

My daughter is learning to string several words together to make sentences, but she only feels confident if she say it 10 times and grabs my head to force me to look at her each time.

Oh I know she wants to establish eye contact for confirmation, but how many times can my head be grabbed while walking with her in my arms?  How many times can I say, “Yes!  That’s correct!” without grinding my teeth?  Apparently, I can do this all day.

Some days I want to scream, but that’s not right because it doesn’t teach her anything. So because of this, I learned to breathe.

03. Rome wasn’t built-in a day, neither was your to-do list.

My never-ending to do list. If I was to unfurl my mental to-do list, it will be as tall as a 6 story building. Okay–exaggeration there, but you get the idea.

That list never shrinks. Always growing and no matter how hard we work on that list, more items will be added.  What’s the point?  Is it a means to always be busy?  I hope not, because if half the things on my list wasn’t necessary, I’ll scrap it right now.

But alas, I know the laundry has to be done, and the floors needs to be washed…again.

What are your top rules for stay at home parents?

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on May 4, 2011, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Being sick while being a SAHM is probably the most difficult thing I’ve ever had to go through… mostly, emotionally. It’s so hard to hold onto every thing that you’re usually able to hold onto. You know, like patience and the ability to redirect and discipline well. All thoughtfulness is thrown out the window and replaced with reactionary parenting. Okay, maybe, I’m just speaking from a really bad today in which I was too sick for too long and I just need a freaking day off! Oh well. Hopefully, the damage we can do in a day can be undone in a hundred well days in which we are supermoms!

    • I understand what you mean about reactionary parenting. But you also know when you’re doing a good job when your two year old tries putting a blanket on you, tells you to go to sleep and gives you a kiss on the head.

  2. Oh I love this post! And it is so true. Out of sheer luck I actually remained pretty healthy while the hubby was off fighting bad guys in Afgahnistan. But the second he came home, I got a cold. Go figure!

    • Lol sounds like you’re immune system was “at ease” when he came home (bad joke). But you’re right about how funny our bodies can be. I’m usually the healthy one in the family, but Now my body decides to act up. Why couldn’t it do this when my husband was home during the day and I could rest?

Leave a Reply

