Osama is Dead: Why I’m Not Cheering

If you haven’t heard by now, Osama Bin Laden is dead. Of course I, who live under a tree and a rock just heard this morning.

I also haven’t been able to process my feelings on the subject. I’m not one to talk politics, but I really do question what this all means for us.

Right now, we have a generation of kids who never knew our country at peace. Yeah, it looks like it’s at peace because we try to ignore all the news from the front line, but we have been at war for 10 years now.

What we have to also think about is that just because Osama is gone, that doesn’t mean there isn’t a threat anymore. In all honesty the United States has paid a high price for Osama’s head.

– Our economy is messed up. There are way too many people not working or not able to find a job.

– We have a messed up reward system. Why is it that we are giving tax breaks to companies that are clearly not hiring here in the U.S.?

– Gas prices are rising. Which also means that the cost of food is also rising. So spending $100 a week on groceries won’t get you as far as it used to.

– “The Donald” is thinking about running for president. This should be scary enough. We had one joke as a president, we don’t need another one.

– We lost a lot of people in our war on terror. Civilians and soldiers.

I am glad to see that those who did lose their lives to defend our country, did not lose it in vain, but I wonder what this all means for a war that has no country, face, or uniform.

In my opinion, we’re going to be fighting this war until we run our of money; we already lost our middle class.

What are your thoughts?

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on May 2, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. My thoughts are that I wish I could disagree with you . . . but I don’t.

  2. Agreed, and well put. Also, the threat is not gone. The terrorist network lives on, any one person is not that important to the overall group. It’s like if any one person in Anonymous was caught, it would not mean that the hackers are defeated. Not by a long shot. I know there is a symbolic meaning to this event, but there is still more work to do…

Leave a Reply

