Daily Archives: April 29, 2011

What to wear now

In December of 2009 I hit my own breaking point. I decided that I ran out of excuses and it’s time that I took my own health serious. I wasn’t sick or anything, but I was obese. I never liked to use the word obese before, but I had to be honest with myself about my condition and that was my true first step.

I told myself that it will take me time to lose the weight, just like it took me time to gain the weight. I reminded myself that it took me two years for my hair to fully loc (dreadlocks) and I wasn’t expecting miracles with that, I knew it will happen over time. I had to apply the same mentality to my weight loss. I’ve tried to lose weight before in the past, and all the previous times I didn’t fix my expectations with what was going to happen in reality.

Fast forward to now, and I’ve lost 70 pounds. Been maintaing a steady weight for 6 months now and so far it looks like I’ve got the tools to do what I need. The only dilemma that I have now is: What do I wear?

When I was a plus size girl, I had a favorite store ( or a few of them), that offered clothes in the style that I liked. Since I’ve lost weight, I don’t really know what to wear anymore. I don’t know what store to look at and what style I like.

It’s like going into civilization when you haven’t been around people in a long time. Lately, I’ve been ordering my clothes online with only a tape measurer for help (not easy taking my daughter shopping for anything). But no matter how accurate I think the numbers are, it’s so much better going into a store and trying on the clothes and getting a better picture.

I would like to say that the weight has also caused me to change my style, but I know that’s not true. I’m getting older now, and the styles that are trending now I either: a) don’t like them or b) they are too young for me.

My husband went through this phase a few years ago, but because his fashion choices are limited(because he’s a guy), it was easier for him to find something (that and he had my help).

Like with my weight loss, I’m confident that I’ll find another store that I can call home (until the next midlife crisis) I just need to be patient and open to try new things.