Not an Evening Person (or Night)

I am a self proclaimed morning person. I can wake up the morning with a song in my heart and a dance in my step. I’m usually waking up smiling and looking forward to the day. Like I said, morning person.

My husband on the other hand is the complete opposite. He’s a night owl. He shuns the sun in the morning like a vampire, and he would rather sleep in to have energy at night. Every time I break into a song, I know he’s searching the bed for a pillow to throw at me (which I’ve removed off the bed) and hide under the covers.

My daughter on the other hand is an all day person. Morning she’s happy, night she’s happy. She’s just a happy person. I can handle the morning, but lord knows, nights are a challenge.

By time evening rolls around, I’m tired, exhausted, annoyed and just looking forward to some quality ME time. My daughter doesn’t quiet get that, and my husband is just winding up from his day time walking slumber.

Time speeds up in the evening. Every time I want people to do something, they somehow slow down, and time is sprinting forward. Next thing I know it’s 7:45pm and I haven’t even gotten her teeth brushed yet.

I know that one underlying factor is that my husband doesn’t see my daughter all day. He’s usually gone in the morning before she wakes up and comes home right at her bed time. For both of them, I know it’s not enough time. But what can I do? We all know she’s going to get wound up if I keep her awake, and the only one to deal with that problem will be me.

Instead, I’m running around like a chicken who lost it’s head trying to get her ready to go to sleep, while still working with her bedtime routine. By the time she does go to sleep, I’m sometimes too tired to enjoy my time to myself, but never too tired to request a shoulder massage from my hubby. That always rejuvenate me.

How do you like to wind down your evenings?

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on April 28, 2011, in relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That used to be just like our house. But the hubby has gotten used to putting our little one to bed by at least 1930. It’s so nice to have that quiet time with just the two of us to chat about our day and what we have going on next.

    We usually love to watch a movie to wind down.

Leave a Reply

