Mommy Said: Parents Talk Funny

You know when you have been talking to your toddler too much. To people who are not your toddler, you refer to yourself as “mommy.”

I do this on a daily basis. I don’t know what it’s like to say “I” anymore, other than on paper. I do not know what my name is other than “mommy,” because that is the only name I hear from morning to night.

My husband laughs when I tell him that, “mommy doesn’t like that” and “mommy said put that away.” I don’t expect him to get it, he’s around adults all day, so he’ll never have to refer to him self as a third person. It’s hard to shut off the third person speech.

Oh Elmo, how I used to chuckle when you talked about yourself. Now, we are in the same shoes and saying the same things.

There used to be a point when I would see parents talk, and refer to themselves as a third person, and I would say to myself, I will NEVER do that. Little did I know, never say never.

Have you ever referred to yourself as “mommy,” or “daddy” when talking to your toddler?

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on April 26, 2011, in Children, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Kristin Brænne

    ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

