PJ’s All Day…Please

Having a toddler is like being at a party that you don’t know what to expect.  There are some parts of it that you’ll love, and other parts you’ll come to dislike.  On the other hand, there are parts where you couldn’t care less about, just as long as the child is not crying.

Hence, her pajama wearing day.  My apartment is warm, it’s always warm.  We live on the top floor and its safe to say that the only time you need to wear a sweater is if you’re planning on staying outside for a while.  We dress in summer gear all year long.

When my hubby bought a cute pajama outfit for her (glitter and all), my daughter went crazy over it.  She loved the bright funky colors.  The funk-a-delic pants that reminds you of the 70s, and the loose billowy arms.

After waking up in these cool clothing, she decided that she wanted to stay in them all day.  Other days I would have insisted on something else to wear, but we were planning on being home since the weather was horrible outside.  So in her pajamas she stayed.

This was the most difficult thing I had to do all day–keep the clothes clean.  Do you know how a toddler eats?  Most of the food ends up on their shirt, hands, hair (sometimes),  the floor and some lucky morsels will end up in their mouth.

I must have lost my mind, but each meal was like a battle ground.  My daughter has a wonderful habit of rubbing her hands across her tummy when she eats something she likes (thank you Kai-Lan).  It doesn’t matter if there was olive oil on her fingers or sauce.  For one full day, I had to convince her that she should wear a towel over her clothes when she eats so that it doesn’t get dirty.  A trick that only worked for one day.

By the end of the evening, I was tired and exhausted and ready to go to sleep. The great news is I’ve managed to kept them clean.

But I can’t tell you how happy I was when the following morning, she forgot all about the pajamas, and allowed me to put other clothes on her that she could easily mess up.

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on April 19, 2011, in Children, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nice one. My mom-in-law bought my daughter a white dress, complete with glitter. She loves it, wears it all the time in the house. I have to put a towel over her when she drinks her chocolate milk so she won’t stain it.

Leave a Reply

