The Middle Child

There is something strange about being born in the middle.  You’re never the first to do something, and you’ll never be the last.  Just imagine it, when the oldest graduates from High School, everyone is excited.  When the youngest graduates and it’s time to cry case the “baby” graduated.  However, when the middle child graduates, it’s all eh, been there…done that.

Yes, this is all from a middle child’s point of view.  Afterall, it’s my view that counts right?  For a long time, that is what I felt about my role, or birth order.  It always felt like I was in the shadow of my oldest sister and I could never break free because I had a younger brother.

If anything, those two got enough attention for the rest of us.  So instead, I accepted the role as peacekeeper, since at the time it was the only thing that seperated me from them.

What I didn’t know, was that from a parent’s point of view, it wasn’t like that at all.  My parents looked at us all differently, never expecting one to be like the other.  Yeah, my parents may have said something like this years ago, but I wasn’t paying attention (as a teen I thought I knew it all).

It wasn’t until after I graduated college, and I decided to go a different route than my sister.  My sister went into teaching, and while I don’t mind teaching children, I went into history then into business instead–a decision that I don’t regret.

When I used to visit my dad at his job, his coworkers could always tell me more information than I thought they knew–because my dad freely had shared it with them.  As it turns out, my dad was proud of everything each of us did, and didn’t mind sharing the information with people.

From a child point of view, being in the middle really sucks, but from a parent’s point of view, birth order doesn’t really matter much, it’s us kids that make more into it than it should be.

Were you the oldest, youngest or middle child in your family?

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on April 16, 2011, in Children, relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

