Not Wanting a Big House

I know I am in a different place than I was several years ago.  Years ago (before children), I wanted it all.  Wanted the big house with the huge lawn.  Wanted the huge car, and the power symbol that says “I got it together.”  But those were dreams for kids.  Now that I’m an adult, I have responsibilities and my priorties are different.

Last night, my husband was showing me houses on the market.  They weren’t too bad-looking, but they all had something in common, they were all big.  Of course, nothing like a McMansion, but it was still much larger than what we needed (if we were going to buy).

I was telling him that three children in a 4 bedroom house is nice, but what about when the kids get older and are no longer in the house.  We are going to be paying for heating and cooling a house that we really only use 4 rooms (bedroom, living room, kitchen, bathroom.  If we have two bathrooms, then that’s twice as much stuff to clean up.

Heck, I even pointed out the yard work.  The larger the yard…well the larger the yard!  Someone is going to have to cut the grass and pretend to know how to garden.  There is always something to repair with a large house.  In the end, it’s a nice dream but that’s all I want it as–a dream.

Sometimes, I’m told I rain on people’s parade when I start getting “realistic,” but I need to be honest with myself, and those around me.  Why spend thousands upon thousand on something, when there is a good chance it won’t make you really happy?

I want to be able to show our children that possessions really doesn’t make a person.  It doesn’t matter how big your car is, how huge your house is.  I want to show our kids that living within their means is much smarter than being over your head with debt.  No one likes debt over their heads, it causes stress and you’re always worried about your finances.

The only way I can think about sharing this lesson with our kids, is by living it.  Truly deciding between needs and wants and going with the needs.

I’m not going to try to be a Saint either, lord knows I can’t do that, because sometimes wants do get the better part of you.  All I can do is try my best to practice what I preach.

If there was one lesson your kids could remember from you, what would you want it to be?

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on April 13, 2011, in Marriage, relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

