Ready for Part II — Second Child Please (before I change my mind)

So this is the year my husband and I will for a second baby.  With luck, our child will be born next year – Year of the Dragon.  I knew that it was coming, and I’m eager to get things started–we’ve had enough practice.  But what I am really dreading is the pregnancy and after the pregnancy.

Don’t get me wrong.  Some women love to be pregnant, I just don’t think I’m one of them.  I love having the feel of the baby inside me, and growing, and kicking and moving.  I love knowing that we have the ability to create another person and add them to our growing family.  But I think that 9 months is way too long.  After 7 months, you can’t sleep, you can’t find a comfortable position to sit.  If you are hungry, you want to eat something, but then after taking two bites, you’re full, and the person who is currently renting space in your belly decides to kick upward making it difficult for you to breathe.

Let me tell you what else.  I’m dreading the midnight feedings and the lack of rest.  Trying to figure everything out with a newborn and a toddler.  How to work on less sleep (even less than what I’m getting now) and how to not lose my mind (what’s left of it).

Other than that, I do want a second child.  It’s weird.  With my daughter, I had no idea what I was getting myself into, and of course our parents didn’t want to tell us because they wanted grandchildren.

But this time, I know what I’m signing up for, and like a job out of hell, you would think I’ll run away from it, but I’m looking forward to it.  I guess it could be biology says I need to reproduce, and for now, anything logical gets scrapped and thrown away until I meet the biological need.

So while I have most of my mind left (personal opinion of course), I’m looking forward to losing the rest of it.  Here’s to parenting.

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on April 11, 2011, in Children and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

