Toddler Climbs Everything

There are two engineers in my family: my husband, who is a computer engineer, and my daughter, who may have a career in construction.

Every time something is purchased, the first thing I have to think about is: Can she climb it? Can she carry it?

If the answer to both those questions are yes (or even one is yes), then I have to rethink my purchase decision. She has learned, like any growing toddler does, how to make make-shift ladders and stepping stools out of our regular house hold goods.

Nothing, and I mean nothing is off limits for her. For example: while in the kitchen I have to hide all containers of rice. Yup, you read it right, RICE. Why? Because the container (small as it is) allows her to climb just 5 inches off of the ground and enter my counter space.

Once there, quick hands roam and wave until something–anything is in it’s path. If she manages to snag something, the next few minutes are wasted getting it back from her, removing the rice to a better location (while asking her to get Elmo) and deal with a crying spell when she realizes that her step ladder is no longer in service.

I don’t try fighting all the battles with my daughter, that’s pointless. I fight the big ones with her, distract her from the small ones, and give her an inch on the ones that really don’t matter (like wearing her lady bug Halloween costume in the house).

I wonder how many times I will have to repeat myself until she either: 1) gets the message, or 2) forgets what she was doing?  I’m more interested in her forgetting.

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on April 1, 2011, in Children, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I totally know where you are coming from, I have a daughter who was/is exactly the same. She is 5 now, and her climbing ability just gets stronger and more dangerous. When she was younger we would move things higher and higher and eventually joked that we would have to suspend everything from the ceiling to make sure it was safe.

Leave a Reply

