Getting Through One Room at a Time

I used to believe that I can do anything if I put my mind to. As long as I applied myself, there will be great rewards. Yeah, all of this sounds nice and all, but that was before I had kids.

Now that children are in the picture and more to come over the years, I now know that it is not that easy. I no longer have huge ambitions, sometimes I just have to scale it down for a toddler.

I would love to straighten out and clean up every room in my home, the truth is, I’m lucky if I can get through one room a day. When I do get through the room, I don’t have any high hopes either. I can’t say to myself that the room will remain clean until next week. That just doesn’t happen.

Instead, I say, this should buy me two days (if I’m lucky). I’m sure that when you clean with a toddler, you will not finish what you started. This is not because of your lack of will. It happens because of the following:

• Not too many hours in the day to finish it all.
• Toddler will get very clingy and you will not be able to move.
• Toddler will push you away from your chores.
• Either you or the toddler (or both) will end up on the floor crying.

The last part doesn’t happen to me anymore, but this there are times I would just hit my lowest. To combat these feelings, I just try focusing on one room at a time.

I list out my plans for the room and what I expect. I then break down my plans into mini to-do lists and check lists. I then start to work on them.

If I do get interrupted (which is expected), I don’t feel upset or annoyed because I can look around and see how much I got done, and I can look over my check list.  Coming back to it after the interruption, I can then review it to see if I was too ambitious once again (usually I am).

This method has been working for me six months now.  Do you have a method that helps you get through your daily to-do list?

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on March 30, 2011, in Children, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

