Day Light Savings Messed with my Clock

It has been two weeks since day light savings started, and its been two weeks that I have been trying to get my daughter down at her “regular” bedtime.  At first I didn’t know what was different, I kept making excuses to myself.  Oh, she’s getting older, maybe her time is shifting, oh it’s the clock, maybe she’s still on the old time.

When it finally came down to it, it was a combination of daylight’s savings, her fighting sleep, and me being too soft.  In all honesty, the last one was the real deal breaker.

All that has changed.  No excuses here.  We continue on with our regular night time routine:

  • Eat Dinner
  • Clean up the table
  • Put dishes in the sink (I was them)
  • Pick up all the toys
  • Shower
  • Watch a show for about an hour
  • Turn off all the lights
  • Sleep

It seems like a lot to do at night time, but its so that she knows that our day is winding down, and so should she.  Not saying that it hasn’t gone without any problems, it’s just that she knows what to expect, and lately, she’s been fighting it.

So, I’ve learned to stay calm, not give in and think of pleasant thoughts–like me having a few hours to myself in the evenings again.

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on March 28, 2011, in Children, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

