Fighting her Way to Sleep

Sometimes, I dread evenings.  It’s just that I have to mentally prepare myself for a battle that I’m just too tired to fight.  No matter how tired I am though, I still have to fight it.

My daughter knows it’s bedtime, we have a routine, she knows what happens when we get to the end of it, but somehow, deep down, I know she’s trying to change the script.  The girl can’t even write yet!

So evenings come along, and it’s one battle after the other.

Step 01.  Let the Nursing Begin

I start by walking with her after all the lights are off and hum a song from a movie.  As of now, the Prince of Egypt Lullaby is stuck in my head.  She starts to nurse, everything is okay…for now.

She switches sides, and then the clock starts to slow down.  For some reason, her feet is on the nursing action too, and I know it’s going to be one of those evenings.

Step 02. Arching

After she had her fill, I know she has gas.  How do I know?  She arches, and then tries to turn and pull away. So here is my back up plan.  I sit her on my lap, facing out, and continue rocking her while humming.  This is where the battle gets heated.

Step 03.  Singing Along With Me

So, I hum and she sings.  She would do this for the next 10 minutes or so until she gets tired again and goes back to step 01.  But odd as it is, I know this is a good sign, since she’s giving up fighting with me to get off my lap, and just accepts that is where she is going to be for now.

I now count down until the girl falls asleep, or until she nurses again,  when she nurses again, then I know I’m close to the end of it.

Step 04.  Nursing Resumes

If she didn’t go back into arching, and her feet is not in on the action of nursing, then the time has come for her to finally want to fall asleep.  For the next 10 minutes, I’m thinking only of pleasant thoughts until her eyes are closed and she stopped nursing all together.

At this point, all I can do is smile.  A big huge grin lights up my face.  But I don’t call it a quits too soon.  I don’t want her waking up from her light sleep just for me to do this again, so I stay there with her, rocking her for the next 10 minutes until I know it’s safe to have some me time.

There were some nights where this whole thing took about hour, but as of now, since she is more than used to it, she falls asleep within 30 minutes, and I am able to walk away 10 minutes after that.

If there is an easier way, I would sure like to know, but for now, this is working.

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on March 27, 2011, in Children, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

