Applesauce Conditioner Anyone?

In the morning, I usually give my daughter a snack.  You know just to tie her over until lunch, which is right after her nap.  Most of the time, morning snack time is uneventful.  She would eat quickly, and then descend from her chair–today was different.

I sat her down, and prepared her applesauce, just the same as always-except I forgot to get something.  I see to her needs, strap her in her chair, and give her her snack.  So far so good.  I was gone for maybe one minute, two tops, when I come back to her, she’s rubbing her hands together, and pointing to her hair.

My lovely daughter decided to give herself an applesauce conditioner!  I don’t know where she got the idea, since I’ve never heard of an applesauce deep conditioner, and if I did, I’m sure I kept the idea to myself.

I need to clean her, but I can’t give her a bath, because it’s too early, and its part of our sleep routine and I don’t want to confuse the poor girl anymore already.

So instead, I opt to wash her hair in the sink, like I usually do for myself.  She seemed okay with this idea at first, even brought her towel.  Then the water came on, and the hair washing hose showed up and it was all terror after that.  In order to just wash the sauce out of her hair, I had to step on a milk crate (don’t ask why I have one lying around) and hold her in my arms with her legs wrapped around me.

She did finally calm down when I started massaging her hair with the water hose.  After that she was fine, because it was over.  At least for her it wasn’t all bad, she did manage to watch an episode of Max and Ruby on my iPhone while I combed and braided her hair.

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on March 26, 2011, in Children, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Yes, the sleep routine is sacred. And actually, applesauce is a better facial scrub than a hair conditioner. 😉

  1. Pingback: Let me Guess: Are You Done Eating? « Blogging While Nursing

Leave a Reply

