Emergency Dentist Visit

After lunch, my family decided to go out for a walk. 1/2 way down the block my daughter puts her hands in her pocket. Okay, fine. She’s done that before and she’s been okay.

This time, she fell and her hands didn’t break her fall. She fell face forward and her gums were bleeding!

To me there was enough blood, so of course my reaction was to take a look at the area. Turns out that her two front teeth looked sort of lose. Not completely loose, just slightly.

My first inclination was to take her to the dentist. It works in our favor to live in an area where there are tons of dentists and doctors.

My husband says, it will be fine. Needless to say, we take her to the dentist, and the guilt just washes over me.

I run through all my thoughts. Maybe I should have insisted she hold me hand, I would have been able to prevent her from falling. Maybe I should have stayed home, there was no need to walk outside today.

While I’m beating myself up, my husband tells me not to worry, but you know how us mothers can be, we will beat ourselves up.

When we were called in for the dentist, my daughter was of course scared (since it was a doctor we went to see) but he somehow managed to take a look at her mouth, and said that it will be okay. Just give her a soft diet.

My husband gives me a look that says, “I told you so.”

Either way, I did get some peace of mind hearing it from he dentist, and we will follow up with him or our family dentist in a week.

Right now I’m too shaken up to eat or think. I just want to hold my baby and cry.

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on March 20, 2011, in Children, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Aw, it’s ok! I know how terrifying those moments are, however, and I totally would have brought my kiddo’s to the DR. too. 🙂 It’s not your fault, and accidents happen. That’s my mantra! Accident’s happen, accident’s happen. Last fall we were at the park and my son and daughter were pushing a swing, when my daughter took the swing full on in the nose. She still has the scar, but we definitely made a trip to the ER that day!

    • Thank you! Sometimes, it’s hard to see that these things will happen when you are in the heat of the moment. But you’re right. Accidents happen.

  1. Pingback: Love Shak, Baby » Identify the Sound of ZZZZZ

  2. Pingback: Fall! Fall! Fall! « Blogging While Nursing

Leave a Reply

