Cutting the Wire

Yesterday, I finally turned 29.  As a gift to myself, I decided to finally cut the cable wire.  I’ve been dancing around with the idea for a while, and after heading out for some soy ice-cream, I decided to call and cancel the TV portion of my cable bill.

If you were to ask me to do this a few months ago, I would have argued with you, or told you no way, but slowly, I have started to change-correction we have started to change.

We needed to lower our monthly expenses since we were looking into purchasing a car for our growing family.  At the time, we just didn’t have enough money to cover the car loan plus insurance on top of all of our other bills.  So we knew it was time to lower our expenses.

But as of now, we are now Cable-TV free and Netflix wired.  We pay for DVDs to be delivered and movies to be streamed but we can choose what we want to watch, when we want to watch it.

Here are some things we considered before we cut the wire:

How often do we watch TV?
We realize that sometimes the TV is only turned on in the evenings, and sometimes only really for an hour.

When we do watch TV is it mindless?
For that hour or so when the TV is on, most of the time we are either searching for something to watch, or mindlessly watching any program that caught our eye.  We really didn’t watch something that we truly wanted to see, or was dying to see, we were just wasting the hour.

Is this programing right for our kids?
Another thing we wanted to consider is all the commercials that show up on TV.  I remember being younger and ignoring most of it, but these days, it’s very suggestive and I feel very provocative.   Bratz dolls and images of girls growing up too soon, or only into their looks, no thank you.

I can’t say I’ll always feel like this, but for now this decision feels right.  I’m not depriving our children of shows, since we stream / purchase the shows that I want and the kids are interested in.

Have you decided or deciding to “cut the wire?” If so, what lead you to that decision?

I look forward to hearing from you.


About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on March 19, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

