Goodbye Facebook–Hello World!

Facebook has been a curse and a blessing for me and my family.  While I’m no novice to social networking, I am a novice to how social networking would change every aspect in my life.

Back in 2007, I jumped on the bandwagon for social networking.  I joined Facebook.  At first I was skeptical, who would look for me on Facebook?  Then one by one, old classmates of mine started to find me request a friendship.  Great!  I said to myself, I can reconnect with people who I’ve lost track with.  This was my first misunderstanding.

For the next few years, the “high” that I would receive when a new person wanted to be my friend started to sizzle and then reality hit me.  I may be socially connected to these people, but we really have nothing in common with each other.

You see, I had thought that once I got on Facebook, I was able to pick up where I left off, and maybe with some luck, make new friends.  That was not the case.  Relationships that drifted apart were just that, drifted apart.  It’s nice to see their picture again and check out their shrine–I mean wall, but other than that there was nothing else in it.

So to the curse part.  Over the years I noticed that I’ve been spending too much time on the social network.  Always looking to see who will like my post, who will comment.  The to-do list of Facebook went on and on.  In stead of spending some more quality time with my family and getting things done, I was checking out the news feed and see what people were doing.

One of my least favorite thing about the social network is that when someone has personal good news to share.  Gone are the days when someone would call you and share the good news, now you find out all the news online.  Talk about impersonal.

There are some good things about Facebook, and the only thing I can say that it has done was connect me with family who are located all over the U.S.  I’ve found new family members, and got re-aquatinted with old ones.

For me though, there are just too many negative things surrounding Facebook and what it not only does to me and how it makes me feel.  I’m not happy when I log on, and I’m not happy when I log out.  These last few days without it, and I’ve been feeling better than I’ve had in a long time.

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on March 11, 2011, in relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

