Living with an Intense Personality

For the longest time, I’ve known my sister to be pretty intense with her personality.  I don’t hate her for it, but she really has a lot going on upstairs.  Most of the time I just stay out of her way, but the times when I do have to communicate with her, it can get pretty annoying.

I don’t know what it is with intense personalities, but from my encounter of it with my sister (for 28 years now), only her opinion matters.  We can’t agree to disagree, because I’m apparently always wrong.  I would like to think that having intense personalities would work in a person’s favor, but from what I’ve seen far, it usually does the person only harm.

Perhaps it really has to do with the fact that she’s 4 years older than me, and to her I’ll always be her silly younger sister.  Either she hasn’t gotten the memo yet, or fail to realize it, but I’m no longer silly (now I have a choice if I want to be silly), and I may be still younger than her, but I have made a lot of decisions in my life so far.

All of this came about when we were  celebrating my daughter’s second birthday.  I’ve invited a friend who I haven’t seen in maybe 3 years or so, and immediately  the conversation jumped to, religion, politics, race and sex (gender stereotypes).  I would have preferred to start the man off with what have you been up to in the past 3 years, but my poor friend was sucked into intense topics one after the other.

While one of my other friends was trying steer the conversation in another direction, and give the man some time to talk, my sister pounced and dominated the conversation from beginning to end.  I know if I was in his shoes, I would feel like my opinions were not important to this person–and he was right!

It wasn’t until the end of the evening (over the last fudge pie), that we’ve finally broke it down for my sister that her personality was really intense.  Tried to tell her that she needs to find a way to calm down, and find her own personal center, but a lot of times, her intense personality can really turn people off.

My family (mother, father, etc), has been saying this for years to her, but she only interpreted it as us picking on her.  So, it took a friend of my family who only met her twice to tell her the brutal truth, she needs to calm down.  Now she’s getting the message, and now she’s listening.

Do you know someone who has an intense personality?  How do you try to work with with them, or live with them?  I would really like to know.

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on February 27, 2011, in relationships and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

