The American Post-Romantic Age

It turns out that unions made today are seldom made with love in mind.  According to Pamela Haag, we are living in a post romantic age.

It’s very hard to disagree with her, since most of us these days had previous relationships before we were married, and we have fallen in and out of love with people before our spouses.  I guess it’s the sheer acknowledgment that we are getting married because we are in love, is the sad reality.

I take a look at my relationship with my husband and I know that I am still in love with him, but I also realize that I am also very similar to my husband in thought.  We get a long very well, and while we do have disagreements here and there, for the most part we can laugh and talk about many things.

While years ago people married for either social improvement, or social security, I guess Haag has it right, we are now marrying for companionship.

I wonder when my daughter grows up, will she be marrying for companionship, or for some other social alliance.  It’s hard to tell these days with things going in and out of fashion.  Either way, I hope she marries someone who she will love, and will love her back.

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on February 11, 2011, in Marriage and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

