Poor Diets Makes Kids Dumb

It turns out that we are really what we eat, especially what we feed our children.  As a nation, I wonder if we are getting smarter with our lifestyle choices, and our decision.  My main concern is what is going to happen to the generation that will one day be in charge.

According to a new study, what we fed our children, or have not been feeding them, has a profound affect on how our children learn. “A predominantly processed-food diet at the age of three is directly associated with a lower IQ at the age of eight and a half, according to a Bristol-based study of thousands of British children.”  You can read the rest of the article from the Guardian here.

I’m not against all junk food.  It has it purposes.  Pizza is great to eat at a birthday party, and hot dogs are great to have during the summer at the beach, but what happens when these foods become part of our every day staples?  Will the child that grew up on these foods be healthy adults to make healthy decisions.  That is what I worry about.

There was a time when my mom cooked everything, but life got in the way.  Instead of having a home cooked meal, we started ordering out.  It got to the point where no one in my family’s home cooked.  Then the expected happened, we all ballooned up in weight.  Instead of changing our lifestyles’ we tried to find a way to loose the weight quick.  Which never works.

It wasn’t until I moved out (got married) that I realized what I needed to change.  It took 3 years to get into a new habit, but now I can honestly say that I’m not persuaded as much by the fast food/junk food.  Eventually, my change caused my family to change their eating habits too.  Now we are all down to a normal weight.

As moms, we are the ones that control the food that goes into our kids mouths.  I wonder sometimes if by finding discounts in the grocery store for cheap food will be worth it in the long run.

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on February 9, 2011, in Children, Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

