Growth

This weekend, I traveled to see my father’s family which resides in the South. This trip was a tremendous mile-stone for me since I usually don’t travel with my daughter.

But we had a death in the family, and I was close with my grandmother (Big Mama), that I knew I just had to go. Despite my apprehensions of traveling (and flying), I put my fears away and just did it.

I am so glad that I did. The flight was wonderful, and not as bad as I imagined it would be. It was smooth and very pleasant. The only down side was–it was at night.

Our flight was delayed so many times due to weather and winter storms that we were delayed for a full day.

But when we landed in Mobile, family took care of us from beginning to end. It had been such a long time that I’ve seen my cousins, aunts, and uncles, it’s like we were starting again but on a better foot.

My daughter took to her little cousins as well. It was so good to see her playing with family that is all around her age, and a mixture of boys and girls too!

While she didn’t want anyone other than me to hold her, she didn’t mind hugging her cousin, and holding hands with another.

Even though it was tragedy that brought us together, we all left on a happy note and full bellies.

It’s only been a day and I’ve miss them already. Now I have a full day of laundry and unpacking to do.

Posted on February 1, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

