Mama Gets The Blues

Every now-and-then I start to feel down and depressed. It’s not that I don’t like what I do everyday, I love my family, but there are just sometimes when you’re mind and body moves beyond the point of being tired.

Whenever I start to feel this way, I try to figure out what are the reasons why I’m feeling depressed. I can always pin point it on the obvious. “I’m home all day, with no one to talk to and I never get a break!” But digging deeper I know that’s not the true cause.

We can all deal with bouts of loneiness, but its hard to say you’re lonely when you’ve got someone trailing you everywhere you go, including the bathroom. Instead, what you could miss is another adult’s interraction.

Below is a list of reasons why I get depressed:

  • The urge to go shopping but no time
  • Miss talking to another adult
  • Need a change in the schedule
  • Need to find hobby for myself
  • Need more time for me

So when I’m feeling down, I write down what I’m really feeling. I get the obvious ones out of the way first, but then as I continue to ask myself the same question the true answer comes out.

Here are some questions to ask yourself when you’re down:

What happened that made you feel down?

What could you do, or your spouse do to help you feel better?

As a stay at home mom, saddness comes and goes. No one ever says it, but it’s part of the job. Even if you’re working out of home and in an office, there will be some days when you just love what you do, and others where you would rather call in sick.

For this job there are no sick days. Just remember to take some “you” time, even if it means going for a walk with your child. One change in the day could really make a difference on your mood.
Just remember, we set the tone for our famiies. If Mama is in a good mood, then everyone else is happy too!

About KalleyC

I am a SAHM who recently found the love of blogging. I am also an avid reader who loves her nook.

Posted on July 27, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

